The Photographer, photo(cine)graphed!

Image

CLICK IN PIC TO WATCH VIDEO / CLICKEZ DANS L’IMAGE POUR VOIR LA VIDÉO

 

« Every act of creation is first an act of destruction » Pablo Picasso

(Français, ensuite)

The Photographer, photographed! This is me, directed by Jean-Vital Joliat cinematographer, smiley happy joker, into some very harsh self-emprisoned dark being. France Allaire, facebook friend, offered me to « smash » her to-be-renovated new home… I called up Jean and asked if this gave him ideas and he said yes. This is somehow the long-story short from an actual fb status which degenerated into crazy raunchy ideas from some 8 to 12 people feeding this creative and sometimes doubtfull status-venture public proposal. Then, rules of chaos occured… Jean came accross this song from Olafur Arnalds… « THIS PLACE WAS A SHELTER », which is the soundtrack, as you would imagine… and so begun the shooting🙂

Interestingly enough, having published a book of portraits (as solo photographer of the book from Michel Peterson) about Canadian (Quebec province actually) refugees from all over the world. The book is available in many great book stores: “L’Instant du Danger” (the instant of danger). I very rapidly grasped the notion of shelter implied here. It’s poetical, psychological, architectural, social and surely from a full complexity of other things. Being so curious and determined to deepen every hard-to-grasp knowledge that came my way in life, I believe it helped and moreover is part of how truely I “played” the caracter. The same way I deepen every photo I take… And I’ll hold M. Joliat as witness that this depth is of a spontaneous and undelayed response🙂

This video has received a lot of attention. I’m almost getting too much of it (liar, attention whore). I’ve always dreamt of being an actor. For now, as a professionnal photographer, I’m getting that rare opportunity to be on the other side of the camera. And as of every dream, maybe someone out there will notice me :) 

http://genero.tv/watch-video/35687/#132976

[FR]

Le photographe, photographié! Me voici, c’est moi, dirigé par Jean-Vital Joliat, cinématographe… De gentil, souriant et lumineux à quelque chose de férocement dur, noir et presque glauque. Une amie facebook, France Allaire, me propose un jour de me défouler à démolir, avant rénovations, l’intérieur de sa future demeurre. J’ai de suite pensé à Jean, que j’ai contacté immédiatement. Il embarque! En fait je raccourcis une longue histoire suivant un « statut fb » que je mis sur mon profil afin de solliciter l’intérêt de curieux de toutes sortes, qui se décline en environ 50 commentaires, un album photos et des tonnes de messages. Espérant que Jean soit attiré par la foule. Puis les règles du chaos se mises en marche… Jean croisa une pièce de Olafur Arnalds: « THIS PLACE WAS A SHELTER », qui est la trame sonore… et l’on commença à tourner!

La vie est faite de circonstances. Ce septembre dernier j’ai publié un livre de portraits (où je suis seul photographe à bord) avec l’éminent auteur Michel Peterson… “L’instant du danger” …et je vous en parle à cause du titre de ce vidéo de Jean-Vital Joliat “This Place was a Shelter” (ceci était un abri/refuge). Notion qui m’était accessible depuis la création de mon livre de portraits… Vous remarquerez les notions d’image, de reflet, d’intérieur, de protection, de transition, d’espace, etc… J’ai donc pu avec une aise qui m’a presque surpris me laisser tomber entre les mains du cinéaste et son objectif. Avec et/ou sans jeu de mots.🙂


Ce vidéo a déjà reçu beaucoup d’attention, presque trop sur ma personne – je mens, j’aime ça! J’ai toujours rêvé d’être acteur! Pour le moment, en tant que photographe professionnel, je profite de cette opportunité plutôt rare, de passer de l’autre côté de la caméra. Puis comme dans tous les rêves, peut-être que quelqu’un là-dehors me remarquera🙂


Laisser un commentaire

