INTERVIEW: Sally Mann – “The Touch of an Angel” (2010) « ASX | AMERICAN SUBURB X | Photography & Culture

See on Scoop.itPhotographerMontreal

Jiang Rong: Looking at the five major bodies of work you have published so far, there is an underlying continuum among them. What was the original impulse that led you to use photography rather than writing as a medium to express yourself?

Sally Mann: I wish I could be a better writer, but writing is so difficult. I get seduced by visual aesthetics. Because I just like making beautiful pictures, sometimes I wander away from making a clear statement. As for my original impulse, I don’t know exactly. Now that I have been working for about forty years, I can see that there is a consistent set of interests in all my work. But even half way through, I wasn’t sure what it was.

See on www.americansuburbx.com


Laisser un commentaire

